Belnet R&E Federation - Technical FAQ

Federation related

What is a federation?
What does a federation provide you?
What is the Belnet R&E Federation?

Technical framework related

What is the technical framework?
What systems are used to install IdP or SP softwares?
How do I install an IdP (identity provider)?
How do I install an SP (service provider)?
Need more information about Shibboleth?
How to to configure the federated login with IDP Office 365?
Need more information about SAML2?
Need more information about the metadata and the discovery service?
Need more information about the attributes?
Extensions: what is the MDUI?
Need more technical information and useful links?

What is a federation?

A federation is a collection of organizations that agree to interoperate under a certain rule set. A federation will generally define attributes, along with the distribution of metadata representing this information.

In general, each organization participating in a federation operates one Identity Provider for their users and a number of service providers. With a single, unique login a student or staff member can access online applications at participating organizations.

What does a federation provide you?

Without a federation, a user registers with each resource he wants to access and usually gets for each resource a new username and password pair, also known as credentials. Users and administrators get confronted with following problems:

  • Too many credentials: per resource users want to access they receive a username and password.
  • Complicated user registration: each resource administrator needs to register the users by himself.

A federation simplifies the processes for all parties involved:

  • Simplified registration: a user only needs to register once within their organization. This 'home organisation' is responsible for user related information and provides the user with the credentials.
  • Simplified administration: thanks to the single login it should be easier to streamline the administration within the organization.
  • Authentication: the user's organization carries out the authentication, which can provide additional information about the user to the resource upon resource's request and user's content.
  • Access control: a decision made by the resource based on the retrieved information about the user.

A federation is based upon the concept that resources rely on user authentication at the user's organization and they obtain from them information about the user for its authorization decisions.

What is the Belnet R&E Federation?

The Belnet R&E Federation brings together higher education and research institutions connected to the Belnet network on a common infrastructure to offer students and employees access to online services. 

The Belnet R&E Federation offers easy and secure access to a range of services and information resources. One single login - the login from your home organization - is all you need to access internal (e.g. web site and web mail) and external resources (e.g. scientific publications, Belnet services including FileSender and Antispam ...).

What is the technical framework?

A student’s username/password combination (their credentials) used to be valid just on university or college campuses. With the advent of identity federation, the use of such credentials can be extended outside the university boundaries. The technology allows us to use our local login for outside applications. The technology does not just allow this, but it keeps everything secure and in line with privacy regulations.

Key concepts in this area are ‘service provider’ (SP) and ‘identity provider’ (IdP). It is a separation of function that is not needed inside a single organization. The middleware Shibboleth is used in order to glue it all together. The standard SAML2, the metadata and the discovery service, attributes are the other essential components of this technical framework.

Federation illustration


You can find more information about each of them in the next questions below.

What systems are used to install IdP or SP softwares?

Two systems has used tried and tested in academic federations: Shibboleth and simpleSAMLphp. Shibboleth uses Java and Tomcat while SimpleSAMLphp is based on PHP.

Belnet has chosen the Shibboleth implementation, and, while you may use SimpleSAMLphp, we will only give support for Shibboleth.

How do I install an IdP (identity provider)?

These pages give you all the necessary information to set up your IdP:

How do I install an SP (service provider)?

The following pages will give you all the necessary information to help you set up your SP:

  • Ubuntu Linux (see the PDF on SP Shibboleth Installation - Linux (Ubuntu))
  • Windows (coming soon)

Need more information about Shibboleth?

The US Research Network Internet2 has been a pioneer in the area of identity federation. It has developed its own system, called Shibboleth. It is a set of software components, comprising the aptly named Shibboleth Identity Provider and Shibboleth Service Provider, as well as other central components to glue it all together. The Shibboleth components are released under an open-source licence.

The development of Shibboleth has provided good input for standardization in the area: the Oasis standard SAML2.

How to to configure the federated login with IDP Office 365?

You can download this manual: IdP with Shibboleth 4.x.y on Ubuntu/Debian with Jetty and Microsoft Azure (by Steve Colin from HECondorcet).

Need more information about SAML2?

SAML (Security Assertion Markup Language) is based on XML. It defines the structure of SAML messages exchanged between IdPs and SPs. It also defines how these messages can be transmitted over the Internet. SAML makes extensive use of XML signatures and encryption to guarantee security of the messages exchanged.

Need more information about the metadata and the discovery service?

SAML2 metadata is an XML document describing technical bits of all IdPs and SPs in the federation. Every IdP and SP needs the metadata for good operations. Without the metadata, an SP won't know how to encrypt messages sent to a given IdP. It also won't know which server is responsible for a given IdP, nor which IdPs are available in the federation. The metadata are maintained by the federation operator, Belnet.

Another service that Belnet is running to ensure good operations is the discovery service. Whenever a user is accessing a protected resource, the SP won't know at that stage which IdP the user belong to. The user will have to select their own organization from the list of available IdPs. This selection is done by the discovery service, also called WAYF (Where Are You From?). The discovery service can be standalone and generic, or it can be integrated with any given SP. Belnet is operating the standalone discovery service.

Need more information about the attributes?

Every IdP reveal some information about the user, in the form of attributes. Someone's name and birthday are attributes,as well as their affiliation with the organization. If a service provider only needs to know whether someone is a student at a particular university, then that's the only attribute that must to be released by the university's IdP.

Extensions: what is the MDUI?

The acronym stands for Metadata Extensions for User Interface (Login and Discovery). It is an extension used by IdPs and SPs, which allows various data to be used in order to extend the metadata so as to improve the interface between the IdP and the SP, but this is essentially in Discovery Service (or WAYF). In the case of our staff's IdP, Belnet stores logos, geographic coordinates and IP hints. Please find here an example of how to do this below:

<Extensions>
   <mdui:UIInfo>
       <mdui:DisplayName xml:lang="en"> Belnet </mdui:DisplayName>
       <mdui:Description xml:lang="en"> Belnet operates the Research and Education network for Belgium. </mdui:Description>
       <mdui:Logo height="16" width="16"> https://your.site.url/images/smalllogo.png </mdui:Logo>
       <mdui:Logo height="64" width="152"> https://your.site.url/images/biglogo.png </mdui:Logo>
   </mdui:UIInfo>
   <mdui:DiscoHints>
        <mdui:DomainHint>belnet.be</mdui:DomainHint>
        <mdui:IPHint>193.190.0.0/15</mdui:IPHint>
        <mdui:IPHint>2001:6a8::/32</mdui:IPHint>
       <mdui:GeolocationHint>geo:50.825312,4.365471</mdui:GeolocationHint>
   </mdui:DiscoHints>
</Extensions>

As you may see, several logos can be used, which can be exploited by the interface presenting the entities. The consensus view seems to prefer logos extended in terms of width (but not too big in terms of their height).

The DiscoHint part is used to help the DiscoJuice discovery' system to locate the nearest IdP on which to log you.

Need more technical information and useful links?

Belnet R&E Federation related:

Metadata Management service (Belnet R&E Federation interface)
Belnet Federation certificate (PEM format) -valid from 03/07/2018!
Metadata XML file - official Belnet Federation
Metadata XML file - official Belnet Federation merged with eduGAIN

Shibboleth related:

Shibboleth home
IdP with Shibboleth 4.x.y on Ubuntu/Debian with Jetty and Microsoft Azure (by Steve Colin from HECondorcet)
Shibboleth IdP et SP software
IdP with Shibboleth 3.1.2 on Ubuntu (from version 14.04 LTS)
SP Shibboleth Installation - Linux (Ubuntu)

 

 

Connect to the Belnet R&E Federation metadata manager interface

Did you find this FAQ useful?

Copyright © 2021 Belnet.

Belnet R&E Federation - Technical FAQ

À propos de la fédération

Qu’est-ce qu’une fédération ?
Quels sont les avantages d’une fédération ?
Qu'est-ce que la Belnet R&E Federation ?

À propos du cadre technique

Quel est le cadre technique ?
Quels sont les systèmes utilisés pour installer les logiciels de l’IdP ou du SP ?
Comment installer un IdP (Identity Provider) ?
Comment installer un SP (Service Provider) ?
Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur Shibboleth ?
Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur SAML2 ?
Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur les métadonnées et le service Discovery ?
Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur les attributs ?
Extensions : qu’est-ce que le MDUI ?
Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations techniques et de liens utiles ?

Qu’est-ce qu’une fédération ?

Une fédération est un ensemble d’organisations qui acceptent d’interagir sur la base d’un ensemble de règles. Généralement, une fédération définit les traits ainsi que la distribution des métadonnées qui représentent ces informations.

 

 

En général, chaque organisation qui participe à une fédération gère un fournisseur d’identité pour ses utilisateurs et un certain nombre de fournisseurs de services. Ainsi, les étudiants ou les membres du personnel peuvent accéder aux applications en ligne des organisations participantes grâce à un identifiant unique.

Quels sont les avantages d’une fédération ?

Sans fédération, les utilisateurs s’inscrivent auprès de chaque ressource à laquelle ils souhaitent accéder, obtenant généralement une nouvelle combinaison nom d’utilisateur/mot de passe, également appelée « identifiants ». Dans ce cas de figure, les utilisateurs et les administrateurs sont confrontés aux problèmes suivants :

  • Identifiants trop nombreux : les utilisateurs se voient attribuer un nom d’utilisateur et un mot de passe pour chaque ressource à laquelle ils souhaitent accéder.
  • Complexité de l’inscription des utilisateurs : chaque administrateur des ressources doit assurer lui-même l’inscription des utilisateurs.

Une fédération simplifie les processus pour toutes les parties concernées :

  • Simplification de l’inscription : les utilisateurs ne doivent s’inscrire qu’une seule fois au sein de leur organisation. Cet « organisation d’origine » est responsable des informations relatives aux utilisateurs et fournit des identifiants à ces derniers.
  • Simplification de l’administration : les identifiants uniques facilitent la rationalisation de l’administration au sein de l’organisation.
  • Authentification : l’organisation de l’utilisateur se charge de l’authentification et peut fournir à la ressource des informations supplémentaires sur l’utilisateur à la demande de celle-ci et moyennant l’accord de l’utilisateur.
  • Contrôle des accès : les décisions sont prises par la ressource sur la base des informations récupérées sur l’utilisateur.

Une fédération se fonde sur le principe selon lequel les ressources reposent sur l’authentification de l’utilisateur au sein de son organisme et obtiennent de ce dernier des informations sur l’utilisateur aux fins de ses décisions d’autorisation.

Qu'est-ce que la Belnet R&E Federation ?

La Belnet R&E Federation rassemble les établissements d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche connectés au réseau Belnet au sein d’une infrastructure commune afin de permettre aux étudiants et aux employés d’accéder à des services en ligne.

La Belnet R&E Federation offre un accès aisé et sécurisé à toute une série de services et de ressources. Un identifiant unique — celui de l'organisation d’origine — suffit pour accéder aux ressources internes (par exemple, le site web et le webmail) et externes (par exemple, les publications scientifiques et les services Belnet, notamment FileSender).

Quel est le cadre technique ?

Auparavant, la combinaison nom d’utilisateur/mot de passe des étudiants (leurs identifiants) n’était valable que sur les campus des universités ou hautes écoles. Avec l’avènement de la fédération d’identité, l’utilisation de ces identifiants peut être élargie au-delà de l’université. Cette technologie permet en effet d’utiliser des identifiants locaux pour des applications externes, mais aussi d’assurer la sécurité des processus et le respect des règles relatives à la protection de la vie privée.

Dans ce domaine, le « Service Provider » (SP) et le « Identity Provider » (IdP) sont des concepts essentiels. Cette séparation des fonctions n’est pas nécessaire au sein d’une même organisation. Le middleware Shibboleth est donc utilisé pour unir tous les éléments. Le standard SAML2, les métadonnées et le service discovery et les attributs sont les autres composantes essentielles de ce cadre technique.

Federation illustration


Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur chacun de ces éléments à travers les questions ci-dessous.

Quels sont les systèmes utilisés pour installer les logiciels de l’IdP ou du SP ?

Deux systèmes ont fait leurs preuves au sein des fédérations universitaires : Shibboleth et SimpleSAMLphp. Shibboleth utilise Java et Tomcat, tandis que SimpleSAMLphp est basé sur PHP.

Belnet a opté pour l’implémentation Shibboleth. Vous pouvez utiliser SimpleSAMLphp, mais nous ne pourrons vous aider que pour Shibboleth.

Comment installer un IdP (Identity Provider) ?

Les pages suivantes contiennent toutes les informations nécessaires pour la configuration de votre IdP :

IdP avec Shibboleth 3.1.2 sur Ubuntu Linux (à partir de la version 14.04 LTS)
IdP avec Shibboleth 2.4.4 sur Ubuntu Linux (à partir de la version 10.04 LTS)
Windows avec ADFS : ADFS 3.0 IdP pour windows2k12 au sein de la fédération Belnet
https://shib.kuleuven.be/docs/idp/2.x/install-idp-2.1-windows.html
• Windows : consultez également ce document utile de la KULeuven

Comment installer un SP (Service Provider) ?

Les pages suivantes contiennent toutes les informations nécessaires pour la configuration de votre SP :

Ubuntu Linux(voir le PDF sur l’installation d’un SP avec Shibboleth - Linux (Ubuntu))
• Windows (bientôt disponible)

Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur Shibboleth ?

Le réseau de recherche américain Internet2 a été un pionnier dans le domaine de la fédération d’identité. Il a mis au point son propre système, baptisé Shibboleth. Il s’agit d’un ensemble de composantes logicielles comprenant les fournisseurs d’identité Shibboleth et fournisseurs de service Shibboleth ainsi que d’autres composantes centrales permettant d’unir tous les éléments. Les composantes de Shibboleth sont disponibles sous une licence open-source.

Le développement de Shibboleth a permis de faire progresser la normalisation dans ce domaine : l’Oasis standard SAML2.

Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur SAML2 ?

Le protocole SAML (Security Assertion Markup Language) est basé sur le langage XML. Il définit la structure des messages SAML échangés entre les IdP et les SP ainsi que les modalités de transmission de ces messages sur internet. SAML fait largement usage des signatures et du cryptage XML pour garantir la sécurité des messages échangés.

Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur les métadonnées et le service Discovery ?

Les métadonnées SAML2 sont un document XML décrivant les aspects techniques de tous les IdP et SP de la fédération. Chaque IdP et SP a besoin des métadonnées pour fonctionner correctement. En effet, sans celles-ci, un SP ne sait pas comment crypter les messages envoyés à un IdP donné. Il ne sait pas non plus quel serveur est responsable d’un IdP donné ni quels IdP sont disponibles au sein de la fédération. Les métadonnées sont gérées par l’opérateur de la fédération, Belnet.

Autre service assuré par Belnet pour garantir le bon fonctionnement des opérations : le service Discovery. Lorsqu’un utilisateur accède à une ressource protégée, le SP ne sait pas, à ce stade, de quel IdP relève l’utilisateur. L’utilisateur doit donc sélectionner son organisation dans la liste des IdP disponibles. Cette sélection se fait à travers le service Discovery, également appelé WAYF (Where Are You From?). Le service Discovery peut être autonome et générique ou intégré à un SP donné. Belnet utilise le service Discovery autonome.

Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations sur les attributs ?

Chaque IdP révèle des informations sur l’utilisateur sous la forme d’attributs. Le nom et la date de naissance d’une personne sont des attributs, de même que son affiliation à l’organisation. Si un prestataire de services doit uniquement savoir si une personne étudie dans une université donnée, il s’agit là du seul attribut qui doit être divulgué par l’IdP de l’université.

Extensions : qu’est-ce que le MDUI ?

Cet acronyme signifie Metadata Extensions for User Interface (Login and Discovery). Il s’agit d’une extension utilisée par les IdP et les SP qui permet d’utiliser différentes données afin d’étendre les métadonnées de manière à améliorer l’interface entre l’IdP et le SP, mais essentiellement pour le service de découverte (ou WAYF). Pour ce qui est de l’IdP de notre personnel, Belnet stocke les logos, les coordonnées géographiques et les indications IP. Vous trouverez un exemple de la manière de procéder ci-dessous :

<Extensions>
   <mdui:UIInfo>
       <mdui:DisplayName xml:lang="en"> Belnet </mdui:DisplayName>
       <mdui:Description xml:lang="en"> Belnet operates the Research and Education network for Belgium. </mdui:Description>
       <mdui:Logo height="16" width="16"> https://your.site.url/images/smalllogo.png </mdui:Logo>
       <mdui:Logo height="64" width="152"> https://your.site.url/images/biglogo.png </mdui:Logo>
   </mdui:UIInfo>
   <mdui:DiscoHints>
        <mdui:DomainHint>belnet.be</mdui:DomainHint>
        <mdui:IPHint>193.190.0.0/15</mdui:IPHint>
        <mdui:IPHint>2001:6a8::/32</mdui:IPHint>
       <mdui:GeolocationHint>geo:50.825312,4.365471</mdui:GeolocationHint>
   </mdui:DiscoHints>
</Extensions>

Comme vous pouvez le voir, plusieurs logos peuvent être utilisés et exploités par l’interface qui présente les entités. Il semble qu’un consensus se dégage en faveur des logos étendus en termes de largeur (mais pas trop hauts).

La partie DiscoHint est utilisée pour aider le le système Discovery DiscoJuice à localiser l’IdP le plus proche auquel vous pouvez vous connecter.

Vous avez besoin de plus d’informations techniques et de liens utiles ?

Concernant Belnet R&E Federation :

Metadata Management service (Belnet R&E Federation interface)
Certificat de la Belnet Federation (PEM format) - Valable à partir du 03/07/2018!
Fichier XML de métadonnées – Belnet Federation officielle
Fichier XML de métadonnées – Belnet Federation officielle fusionnée avec eduGAIN

Concernant Shibboleth :

Accueil Shibboleth
Logiciels Shibboleth IdP et SP 
IdP avec Shibboleth 3.1.2 sur Ubuntu (à partir de la version 14.04 LTS)
Installation du SP avec Shibboleth - Linux (Ubuntu)

 

 

Connectez-vous à la Belnet R&E Federation metadata manager interface

Copyright © 2021 Belnet.