Nicolas Loriau, Technical Advisor

Nicolas Loriau , Technical Advisor

Nicolas Loriau, Technical Advisor at Belnet
“I think the daily contacts with customers are very interesting. I also like the variety of my job.”

Tell us about your job…

“My role is very varied. As a Technical Advisor I provide support to Belnet’s customers on the one hand. They can contact me with technical questions or issues. I also explain which services we offer and what they can do with these services.

In addition to this I also act as the link between our customers and the technical units within Belnet. In a sense I “translate” our customers’ questions into a more technical explanation for the Belnet teams.”

What was your career path before joining Belnet?

“I hold a degree in electrical engineering, and majored in IT networks.  My first job was with an HVAC company. I ended up in telecoms thanks to one of their customers.

I was specifically searching for a Belgian, preferably non-commercial organisation that could offer me a socially relevant job.  And that’s how I ended up applying to Belnet in 2012.”

Working for Belnet.... Is it an advantage, in your opinion?

“Most certainly! My goal was to ultimately work for Belnet, because it supplies connectivity and services for research and education. I want my daily work to not merely benefit the organisation I work for, but also higher education and research in Belgium. So the non-commercial aspect really appealed to me.

Besides this I also consider the fact that you can work in a high-tech environment at Belnet as well as using the newest technology a huge asset.”

What do you value most about your job?

“I think the daily contacts with customers are very interesting. We work for a lot of different organisations, including universities with very large technical teams and smaller organisations where you can really play your role as advisor to the fullest.”

What do you think about the collaboration with your colleagues?

“My colleagues and I work well together. I think it’s a good thing that all the noses point in the same direction. Because we are a governmental organisation, the atmosphere is very friendly. I didn’t think this was really the case in the private sector. The contacts with my colleagues are much warmer and there is no rivalry. Everyone is working towards achieving the same goal.”

How well are you able to combine work and your private life?

“Pretty well, actually. Thanks to the flexible working hours and the telecommuting options, I can easily combine my job and my family life.”

Can you tell us of which project you are particularly proud?

“I’m proud of the govroam implementation in the federal satellite offices. Thanks to govroam, employees in the satellite offices can easily and securely use the local Wi-Fi networks. It’s a great project and really good collaboration with other public services.

Together with the technical teams, we’ve implemented a network for supercomputing (CECI) between all French-speaking universities in Belgium, similar to the network we put in place for its Flemish equivalent (VSC).  This project has really boosted our reputation in the educational sector.”

Copyright © 2019 Belnet.

Nicolas Loriau, Technical Advisor

Nicolas Loriau , Technical Advisor

Nicolas Loriau, Technical Advisor chez Belnet
"Le contact quotidien avec les clients est très enrichissant. J'apprécie également la variété de mon travail."

Parlez-nous de votre job...

« Le contenu de ma fonction est très varié. En tant que Technical Advisor, je fournis une assistance aux clients de Belnet. Ceux-ci peuvent s'adresser directement à moi s'ils ont une question ou un problème technique. Par exemple, je leur explique de quels services nous disposons et ce que l'on peut faire avec ces services.

J’assure également le lien entre nos clients et les unités techniques au sein de Belnet. On pourrait dire que je « traduis » les questions de nos clients en termes plus techniques pour les équipes de Belnet. »

Quel a été votre parcours professionnel avant de rejoindre Belnet ?

« J'ai fait des études d'ingénieur industriel, spécialité électricité, avec option réseaux informatiques. Ma première expérience de travail a eu lieu dans une société du secteur HVAC. Par le biais d'un de leurs clients, je suis ensuite passé dans le secteur télécom.

J'étais spécifiquement à la recherche d'une organisation belge, de préférence non commerciale, pouvant me proposer un poste à pertinence sociale. C'est ainsi que je suis arrivé chez Belnet. »

Travailler chez Belnet… Est-ce un avantage selon vous ?

« Certainement ! J'avais depuis longtemps envie de travailler chez Belnet, surtout en raison de la connectivité et des services fournis par l’entreprise au secteur de l'enseignement et de la recherche. Pour moi, il est essentiel que mes activités quotidiennes ne servent pas uniquement à l'organisation, mais profitent également à l'enseignement et à la recherche en Belgique.

J’apprécie par ailleurs le fait de travailler dans un environnement high-tech et d’utiliser les toutes dernières technologies. »

Qu'appréciez-vous le plus dans votre job ?

« Le contact quotidien avec les clients. Les organisations pour lesquelles nous travaillons sont très variées; elles vont des universités qui disposent d'une très vaste équipe technique aux organisations plus petites où je peux jouer pleinement mon rôle de conseiller. »

Comment vivez-vous la collaboration avec vos collègues ?

« La collaboration avec mes collègues se passe très bien. Comme il s'agit d'une organisation d'État, l'atmosphère est très collégiale, ce que j'ai beaucoup moins connu dans le secteur privé. Les contacts avec mes collègues sont très humains et il n'y a aucune rivalité. Chacun travaille dans le même but. »

Comment combinez-vous votre vie privée et votre vie professionnelle ?

« Très bien ! Je peux combiner aisément travail et vie privée grâce à la flexibilité des horaires et à la possibilité de faire du télétravail. »

De quel projet ou réalisation êtes-vous fier ?

« Je suis fier que govroam soit intégré dans les bureaux satellites fédéraux. Grâce à ce système, les collaborateurs peuvent utiliser rapidement les réseaux wifi disponibles sur place, en toute sécurité. C'est un beau projet et le fruit d'une collaboration harmonieuse avec d'autres services publics !

En concertation avec les équipes techniques, nous avons mis en place un réseau entre toutes les universités francophones belges pour le calcul intensif (CECI), équivalent au réseau mis en place pour son pendant néerlandophone : le VSC. Ce projet a encore consolidé notre réputation dans le secteur de l'enseignement. »

Copyright © 2019 Belnet.